

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer

March 11, 2022

TO: Presiding Officer or Designated District Voting Delegate

FROM: Lou Ann Texeira, LAFCO Executive Officer

#### SUBJECT: 2022 Election for LAFCO Special District Seats

In January 2022, LAFCO staff announced two Special District vacancies on LAFCO in conjunction with the expiring terms of Commissioner Igor Skaredoff (Regular Member) and Commissioner Stan Caldwell (Alternate Member). At that time, LAFCO also called for nominations and the names of district voting delegates.

The deadline for submitting nominations was March 4, 2022. Regarding the alternate seat, only one candidate was nominated – Stan Caldwell, incumbent. No election for this seat is required, and Stan Caldwell will retain his seat as Alternate Special District Member. Regarding the Regular seat, LAFCO received five nominations, including nomination of the incumbent Igor Skaredoff. The attached ballot shows the five candidates.

The Independent Special District Selection Committee (ISDSC), consisting of the presiding officer (or his/her designee) of the legislative body of each independent special district, appoints the special district members of LAFCO. In lieu of a meeting to conduct the election, we are conducting the election by postal mail and email. Your district is receiving this message and ballot via email and postal mail.

The LAFCO Executive Officer may conduct the election by mail if it is determined that a meeting of the ISDSC is not feasible. Given the ongoing pandemic, the LAFCO Executive Officer will conduct the election by email and postal mail.

*Enclosed is the official ballot and list of presiding officers/voting delegates.* If your district has not yet provided the name of your presiding officer or voting delegate (must be a board member), please do so as soon as possible.

We ask that each district complete and return its signed ballot to Contra Costa LAFCO office either by email to LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us or via postal mail to Contra Costa LAFCO, 40 Muir Road, First Floor, Martinez, CA 94553. In order to complete the 2022 election process, we must receive completed ballots from a majority of the districts (at least 21) no later than <u>April 15<sup>th</sup></u>. If a majority of ballots is not received by <u>April 15<sup>th</sup></u>, a further extension of this election may be required.

# This is a time sensitive matter and we ask that you forward this information including the attachments to your presiding officer or voting delegate at your earliest convenience.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions or need additional information. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION COMMITTEE			
DISTRICT	NAME	TITLE	ALTERNATE
ALAMO-LAFAYETTE CEMETERY DIST	Nancy J. Flood	Chair	Carolyn Thiessen, Trustee
AMBROSE REC & PARK DIST	Trina Hudson	Chair	Mae Torlakson, Vice Chair
B-B-K-U CEMETERY DIST	Patricia Bristow	Chair	Barbara Guise, Trustee
BETHEL ISLAND MID	Bruce Smith	Board President	Anthony Berzinas, VP
BYRON SANITARY DISTRICT	Danny Hamby	Chair	Mike Nisen, Vice Chair
CASTLE ROCK COUNTY WATER DISTRICT	Dan Moylan		Joe Atturio
CENTRAL CONTRA COSTA SANITARY DIST	Tad Pilecki	Board Member	Barbara Hockett
CONTRA COSTA MOSQUITO & VECTOR CONTROL	Michael Krieg	President	Perry Carlston, Vice Pres
CONTRA COSTA RESOURCE CON DIST	Igor Skaredoff	President	
CONTRA COSTA WATER DISTRICT	Lisa Borba	President	Ernesto Avila, Vice Pres
CROCKETT COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT	Luigi Barassa	President	Scott Bartlebaugh, VP
DIABLO CSD	Kathy Urbelis	President	Leonard Becker, Vice Pres
DIABLO WATER DISTRICT	Paul Seger	President	Scott R. Pastor, Vice Pres
TOWN OF DISCOVERY BAY CSD	Kevin Graves	President	Ashley Porter, Vice Pres
EAST CONTRA COSTA FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT	Brian Oftedal	President	Carrie Nash, VP
EAST CONTRA COSTA IRRIGATION DISTRICT	Glenn Stonebarger	President	Mark Dwelley, Vice Pres
GREEN VALLEY REC & PARK DIST	Adam Glimme	Board Member	
IRONHOUSE SANITARY DIST	Susan Morgan	President	Dawn Morrow, Vice Pres
KENSINGTON FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT	Laurence Nagel	President	Kevin Padian, Vice Pres
KENSINGTON POLICE PROT & CSD	Sylvia Hacaj	President	Eileen Nottoli, Vice Pres
TOWN OF KNIGHTSEN CSD	Trish Bello-Kunkel	Chair	Gilbert Somerhalder, Vice Chair
MORAGA-ORINDA FIRE DIST	Michael Donner	President	Steven Danziger, Vice Pres
MT. VIEW SANITARY DIST	Dave Maggi	President	Brian Danley, Vice Pres
PLEASANT HILL REC & PARK DISTRICT	Bobby Glover	Chair	Sandra Bonato, Vice Chair
RECLAMATION DIST (RD) 799	Jim Price	President	Richard Kent, Vice Pres
RD 800	Robert Lyman	President	David Harris, Secretary
RD 830	Chris Lauritzen		Susan Morgan
RD 2024 *	Don Wagenet	President	John Jackson, Trustee Thomas Robinson, Trustee
RD 2025	David Forkel	Chair	Pamela A. Forbus, Secretary
RD 2026*	David A. Forkel	Chair	Pamela A. Forbus, Secretary
RD 2059	Rob Davies	President	
RD 2065*	Coleman Foley	President	Thomas Baldocchi, Sr., Trustee Thomas Baldocchi, Jr., Trustee
RD 2090*	Jake Messerli	Chair	Pamela A. Forbus, Attorney
RD 2117*	Joyce Speckman	President	Sandra Kiefer, Trustee
RD 2122	Katherine Wadsworth	President	
RD 2137*	Pamela A. Forbus	Attorney/Secretary	
RODEO-HERCULES FIRE PROTECTION DIST	Damon Covington	Chair	Steve Hill, Vice Chair
RODEO SANITARY DISTRICT	Connie Batchelder	President	Janet Callaghan, Vice Pres
SAN RAMON VALLEY FIRE PROTECTION DIST	Ryan Crean	President	H. Jay Kerr, Vice Pres
STEGE SANITARY DISTRICT	Dwight Merrill	President	Juliet Christian-Smith, VP
WEST COUNTY WASTEWATER DIST	Cesar Zepeda	President	Cheryl Sudduth, Vice Pres

# INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION COMMITTEE CONTRA COSTA LAFCO

## **OFFICIAL BALLOT**

Election of **REGULAR** Special District Member for a term of office on LAFCO to May 2026

## Vote for <u>one</u>:

□ Igor Skaredoff (Contra Costa Resource Conservation District)

Marilyn Tiernan
 (Diablo Water District)

Patricia Bristow
 (Byron-Brentwood-Knightsen Union Cemetery District)

Cesar Zepeda
(West County Wastewater District)

Antonio Martinez
 (Contra Costa Water District)

Name of Voting District: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Name of Voting Member: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Signature of Voting Member: \_\_\_\_\_\_

Please return ballot to the LAFCO office no later than April 15, 2022 via email to LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us or mail to Contra Costa LAFCO 40 Muir Road, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor, Martinez, CA 94553